

375 Beale Street Suite 700 San Francisco, California 94105

Meeting Minutes - Final

ABAG Executive Board

President, Jesse Arreguin, Mayor, City of Berkeley Vice President, Belia Ramos, Supervisor, County of Napa		
Immediate Past President, David Rabbitt, Supervisor, County of Sonoma		
Thursday, April 15, 2021	5:30 PM	Board Room - 1st Floor (REMOTE)

Association of Bay Area Governments Executive Board Meeting No. 457

The ABAG Executive Board may act on any item on the agenda. The meeting is scheduled to begin at 5:30 p.m., or immediately following the preceding ABAG committee meeting. Agenda, roster and webcast available at https://abag.ca.gov For information, contact Clerk of the Board at (415) 820-7913.

Roster

Susan Adams, Candace Andersen, Jesse Arreguin, Nikki Fortunato Bas, London Breed, Tom Butt, David Canepa, Keith Carson, Cindy Chavez, Pat Eklund, Maya Esparza, Carroll Fife, Neysa Fligor, Leon Garcia, Liz Gibbons, Giselle Hale, Barbara Halliday, Rich Hillis, David Hudson, Otto Lee, Matt Mahan, Rafael Mandelman, Gordon Mar, Nathan Miley, Karen Mitchoff, Stephanie Moulton-Peters, Raul Peralez, David Rabbitt, Belia Ramos, Carlos Romero, James Spering, Loren Taylor, Lori Wilson. Jayne Battey (Non-voting).

1. Call to Order / Roll Call / Confirm Quorum

President Arreguin called the meeting to order at about 5:45 p.m. Quorum was present. Jayne Battey (Advisory Member, non-voting) was present.

- Present: 28 Adams, Andersen, Arreguin, Bas, Butt, Canepa, Carson, Chan, Chavez, Eklund, Garcia, Hale, Halliday, Hendricks, Hudson, Lee, Mahan, Mandelman, Mar, Miley, Mitchoff, Peralez, Rabbitt, Ramirez, Ramos, Romero, Spering, and Wilson L
 Absent: 5 Esparza, Fife, Hillis, Moulton-Peters, and Taylor
- 2. Public Comment

3. Executive Board Announcements

4. President's Report

4.a. <u>21-0471</u> ABAG President's Report for April 15, 2021

President Arreguin gave the report.

5. Executive Director's Report

5.a. <u>21-0477</u> Executive Director's Report for April 15, 2021

Therese McMillan gave the report.

6. Executive Board Consent Calendar

Upon the motion by Eklund and second by Chavez, the Consent Calendar was approved. The motion passed unanimously by the following vote:

- Aye: 24 Adams, Andersen, Arreguin, Bas, Butt, Canepa, Chan, Chavez, Eklund, Garcia, Hale, Halliday, Hendricks, Hudson, Lee, Mahan, Mar, Miley, Mitchoff, Ramirez, Ramos, Romero, Spering, and Wilson L
- Absent: 9 Carson, Esparza, Fife, Hillis, Mandelman, Moulton-Peters, Peralez, Rabbitt, and Taylor
- 6.a. <u>21-0478</u> Approval of ABAG Executive Board Minutes of March 18, 2021
- 6.b. 21-0588 Authorization for ABAG Executive Board approval of a contract through December 31, 2023 with City Innovate Inc. for Regional Consulting Bench Management Software Services to assist the Association of Bay Area Governments (ABAG) in implementing the Regional Early Action Planning Grant Program (REAP) in an amount not to exceed \$300,000
- 6.c. 21-0633 Authorization for the Executive Director of the Metropolitan Transportation Commission (MTC), or her designee, on behalf of the Association of Bay Area Governments (ABAG), to amend the contract with Baird + Driskell Community Planning from an amount not to exceed \$200,000 to an amount not to exceed \$400,000 to assist ABAG in implementing the Regional Early Action Planning Grant Program (REAP) through the end of December 2023
- 6.d. <u>21-0636</u> Ratification of Appointment to Administrative Committee

7. ABAG Administrative Committee

 8.a.
 21-0479
 Report on ABAG Administrative Committee Meeting of April 9, 2021

 President Arreguin gave the report.

8. ABAG Finance Committee

8.a. <u>21-0480</u> Report on ABAG Finance Committee Meeting of April 15, 2021

Chair Mitchoff gave the report.

8.b. <u>21-0481</u> Report on Proposed ABAG Operating Budget and Work Program for Fiscal Year 2021-2022

Brian Mayhew gave the report.

Upon the motion by Adams and second by Garcia, the ABAG Executive Board recommended that the ABAG General Assembly adopt ABAG Resolution No. 05-2021—Approval of the Association of Bay Area Governments Fiscal Year 2021-22 Operating Budget, and that in the Fall staff report on a reserve policy, membership dues restructuring, and OPEB liability refinancing. The motion passed unanimously by the following vote:

- Aye: 26 Adams, Andersen, Arreguin, Bas, Butt, Carson, Chan, Chavez, Eklund, Garcia, Hale, Halliday, Hendricks, Hudson, Lee, Mahan, Mandelman, Mar, Miley, Mitchoff, Peralez, Ramirez, Ramos, Romero, Spering, and Wilson L
- Absent: 7 Canepa, Esparza, Fife, Hillis, Moulton-Peters, Rabbitt, and Taylor

9. Joint MTC ABAG Legislation Committee

9.a. <u>21-0482</u> Report on Joint MTC ABAG Legislation Committee Meeting of April 9, 2021

President Arreguin gave the report.

9.b. <u>21-0634</u> Assembly Bill 43 (Friedman): Vision Zero-Setting Speed Limits to Enhance Roadway Safety

Rebecca Long gave the report.

Upon the motion by Eklund and second by Hudson, the ABAG Executive Board approved a support position on Assembly Bill 43 (Friedman), as reported. The motion passed unanimously by the following vote:

- Aye: 27 Adams, Andersen, Arreguin, Bas, Butt, Canepa, Carson, Chan, Chavez, Eklund, Garcia, Hale, Halliday, Hendricks, Hudson, Lee, Mahan, Mandelman, Mar, Miley, Mitchoff, Peralez, Ramirez, Ramos, Romero, Spering, and Wilson L
- Absent: 6 Esparza, Fife, Hillis, Moulton-Peters, Rabbitt, and Taylor
- **9.c.** <u>21-0635</u> Assembly Bill 550 (Chiu): Vision Zero: Speed Safety Cameras

Rebecca Long gave the report.

Upon the motion by Eklund and second by Hudson, the ABAG Executive Board approved a support position on Assembly Bill 550 (Chiu). as reported. The motion passed unanimously by the following vote:

Aye: 27 - Adams, Andersen, Arreguin, Bas, Butt, Canepa, Carson, Chan, Chavez, Eklund, Garcia, Hale, Halliday, Hendricks, Hudson, Lee, Mahan, Mandelman, Mar, Miley, Mitchoff, Peralez, Ramirez, Ramos, Romero, Spering, and Wilson L Absent: 6 - Esparza, Fife, Hillis, Moulton-Peters, Rabbitt, and Taylor

9.d. <u>21-0483</u> Adoption of Regional Resilience/Climate Adaptation Advocacy Principles to guide legislative engagement on climate adaptation legislation including, but not limited to Assembly Bill 897 (Mullin) as well as resilience-related bond proposals, including Assembly Bill 1500 (Garcia) and Senate Bill 45 (Portantino)

Rebecca Long gave the report.

Upon the motion by Eklund and second by Hudson, the ABAG Executive Board approved the revised Regional Resilience/Climate Adaptation Advocacy Principles, as reported. The motion passed unanimously by the following vote:

- Aye: 26 Adams, Andersen, Arreguin, Bas, Canepa, Carson, Chan, Chavez, Eklund, Garcia, Hale, Halliday, Hendricks, Hudson, Lee, Mahan, Mandelman, Mar, Miley, Mitchoff, Peralez, Ramirez, Ramos, Romero, Spering, and Wilson L
- Absent: 7 Butt, Esparza, Fife, Hillis, Moulton-Peters, Rabbitt, and Taylor

10. Adjournment / Next Meeting

President Arreguin adjourned the meeting at about 7:13 p.m. The next regular meeting of the ABAG Executive Board is on May 20, 2021.