

Meeting Minutes

Metropolitan Transportation Commission

	Jake Mackenzie, Chair	Scott Haggerty, Vice Chair	
Wednesday, May 23, 2018	ç	9:40 AM	Board Room - 1st Floor

Call Meeting to Order

1. Roll Call / Confirm Quorum

- Present: 16 Commission Chair Mackenzie, Commission Vice Chair Haggerty, Commissioner Aguirre, Commissioner Bruins, Commissioner Connolly, Commissioner Cortese, Commissioner Dutra-Vernaci, Commissioner Glover, Commissioner Josefowitz, Commissioner Kim, Commissioner Liccardo, Commissioner Pedroza, Commissioner Pierce, Commissioner Schaaf, Commissioner Spering, and Commissioner Worth
- Absent: 2 Commissioner Halsted, and Commissioner Slocum

Non-Voting Commissioners Present: Commissioner Azumbrado and Commissioner Giacopini Non-Voting Commissioners Absent: Commissioner Davis

2. Chair's Report – Mackenzie

2a.18-0398MTC Resolution No. 4340 - Resolution of Appreciation to Irving Maxwell on
the occasion of his retirement from MTC.

Action: Commission Approval

Commissinoer Glover, Commissioner Kim, and Commissioner Llccardo arrived during Agenda Item 2a.

Upon the motion by Commission Chair Mackenzie and the second by Commission Vice Chair Haggerty, the Commission unanimously adopted MTC Resolution No. 4340. The motion carried by the following vote:

- Aye: 16 Commission Chair Mackenzie, Commission Vice Chair Haggerty, Commissioner Aguirre, Commissioner Bruins, Commissioner Connolly, Commissioner Cortese, Commissioner Dutra-Vernaci, Commissioner Glover, Commissioner Josefowitz, Commissioner Kim, Commissioner Liccardo, Commissioner Pedroza, Commissioner Pierce, Commissioner Schaaf, Commissioner Spering and Commissioner Worth
- Absent: 2 Commissioner Halsted and Commissioner Slocum

3. Policy Advisory Council Report – Randi Kinman

No report was provided.

4. Executive Director's Report – Heminger

5. Commissioner Comments

6. Consent Calendar:

Approval of the Consent Calendar

Upon the motion by Commissioner Aguirre and the second by Commissioner Dutra-Vernaci, the Consent Calendar was unanimously approved by the following vote:

- Aye: 16 Commission Chair Mackenzie, Commission Vice Chair Haggerty, Commissioner Aguirre, Commissioner Bruins, Commissioner Connolly, Commissioner Cortese, Commissioner Dutra-Vernaci, Commissioner Glover, Commissioner Josefowitz, Commissioner Kim, Commissioner Liccardo, Commissioner Pedroza, Commissioner Pierce, Commissioner Schaaf, Commissioner Spering and Commissioner Worth
- Absent: 2 Commissioner Halsted and Commissioner Slocum
- 6a. <u>18-0336</u> Minutes of the April 25, 2018 meeting

Action: Commission Approval

Programming and Allocations Committee

- 6b.18-0302MTC Resolution No. 4035, Revised and 4202, Revised. Revisions to the
OBAG 1 and 2 County and Regional Programs
 - Action: Commission Approval

Presenter: Mallory Atkinson

- 6c.18-0301MTC Resolution No. 4275, Revised. 2017 Transportation Improvement
Program (TIP) Amendment 2017-34.
 - Action: Commission Approval

Presenter: Adam Crenshaw

6d.18-0271MTC Resolution No. 4292, Revised. Revisions to the FY2017-18 FTA
Section 5311 Rural Area Formula Program to reprogram funds from
Fairfield to the Cities of Dixon and Rio Vista.

Action: Commission Approval

Presenter: Rob Jaques

6e.18-0306MTC Resolution No. 4332. Adoption of the FY2018-19 MTC Regional
STA Program in support of Clipper and other regional transit projects.Action:Commission Approval

Presenter: Cheryl Chi

Committee Reports

7. Legislation Committee - Aguirre

7a.18-0325AB 2923 (Chiu): BART Transit Oriented Development - Support and Seek
Amendments

This bill would require the BART board to adopt new transit-oriented development (TOD) guidelines by a majority vote at a duly noticed public meeting that establish minimum local zoning requirements for BART-owned land that is located on contiguous parcels larger than 0.25 acres, within 1/2 mile of an existing or planned BART station entrance, in areas having representation on the BART board of directors.

<u>Action:</u> Support and Seek Amendment / MTC Commission Approval

Presenter: Rebecca Long

Rob Stoker, Alameda Building Trades, was called to speak.

Ivan Jimenez, BrightlineDefense, was called to speak.

Victoria Fierce, East Bay for Everyone, was called to speak.

Arielle Fleisher, SPUR, was called to speak.

Adina Levin was called to speak.

Upon the motion by Commissioner Aguirre and the second by Commissioner Liccardo, the Commission unanimously adopted a Support and Seek Amendments position on Assembly Bill 2923. The motion carried by the following roll call vote:

- Aye: 16 Commission Chair Mackenzie, Commission Vice Chair Haggerty, Commissioner Aguirre, Commissioner Bruins, Commissioner Connolly, Commissioner Cortese, Commissioner Dutra-Vernaci, Commissioner Glover, Commissioner Josefowitz, Commissioner Kim, Commissioner Liccardo, Commissioner Pedroza, Commissioner Pierce, Commissioner Schaaf, Commissioner Spering and Commissioner Worth
- Absent: 2 Commissioner Halsted and Commissioner Slocum

8. Programming and Allocations Committee – Josefowitz

8a. <u>18-0307</u> MTC Resolution No. 4333. Adopt the FY2018-19 RM2 Operating and Marketing Program.

Adopt the \$53.2 million FY2018-19 Regional Measure 2 (RM2) Operating and Marketing Program, and provide updates on programming, route changes, and recommendations for three routes at risk of losing funding.

- Action: Commission Approval
- Presenter: Cheryl Chi

Upon the motion by Commissioner Josefowitz and the second by Commission Vice Chair Haggerty, the Commission unanimously adopted MTC Resolution No. 4333. The motion carried by the following vote:

- Aye: 16 Commission Chair Mackenzie, Commission Vice Chair Haggerty, Commissioner Aguirre, Commissioner Bruins, Commissioner Connolly, Commissioner Cortese, Commissioner Dutra-Vernaci, Commissioner Glover, Commissioner Josefowitz, Commissioner Kim, Commissioner Liccardo, Commissioner Pedroza, Commissioner Pierce, Commissioner Schaaf, Commissioner Spering and Commissioner Worth
- Absent: 2 Commissioner Halsted and Commissioner Slocum

8b.18-0310MTC Resolution No. 4320. Approval of Regional Means-Based Fare
Program Framework.

Based on feedback received in April, staff will present a revised program framework and options to the Programming and Allocations Committee for consideration.

Action: Commission Approval

Presenter: Anne Richman

Arielle Fleisher, SPUR was called to speak.

Cat Carter, San Francisco Transit Riders, was called to speak.

Adina Levin, Friends of Caltrain and Seamless Bay Area, was called to speak.

Carter Mau, CalTrain, was called to speak.

Victoria Fierce, East Bay for Everyone, was called to speak.

Commissioner Pedroza, Commissioner Schaaf, and Commissioner Spering left during agenda item 8b.

Upon the motion by Commissioner Josefowitz and the second by Commission Vice Chair Haggerty, the Commission unanimously adopted MTC Resolution No. 4320. The motion carried by the following vote:

- Aye: 13 Commission Chair Mackenzie, Commission Vice Chair Haggerty, Commissioner Aguirre, Commissioner Bruins, Commissioner Connolly, Commissioner Cortese, Commissioner Dutra-Vernaci, Commissioner Glover, Commissioner Josefowitz, Commissioner Kim, Commissioner Liccardo, Commissioner Pierce and Commissioner Worth
- Absent: 5 Commissioner Halsted, Commissioner Pedroza, Commissioner Schaaf, Commissioner Slocum and Commissioner Spering

9. Public Comment / Other Business

10. Adjournment / Next Meetings:

The next meeting of the Commission will be held on June 27, 2018 at 9:45 a.m. at the Bay Area Metro Center, 375 Beale Street, San Francisco, CA 94105.